Board of Supervisors


  • 7 p.m.
  • 3rd Monday of every month
  • 1626 West Logansport Road
    Suite A
    Peru, IN 46970
These meetings are open to the public. For actual meeting dates, please see our Event Calendar.

Annual Meeting

The next annual meeting will be held on January 25, 2012 at Blair Pointe Elementary School. The speaker will be Tom Bechman. Other details including ticket prices, will be available here as they become available.


The official governing body of a soil and water conservation district consists of 5 supervisors - 3 are elected (1 each year for a 3-year term) at an annual meeting of land occupiers held during the first quarter of the year. Additionally, 2 supervisors are appointed (also for 3-year staggered terms) by the State Soil Conservation Board based upon recommendations of the leadership of the local soil and water district.
  • Troy Hattery, Chairman
  • Brad Clemons
  • Nick Musser
  • Jon Reese
  • Jack Gable
SWCD Board of Supervisors
The supervisors elected are based on local input by the local people they serve. As public officials responsible to the district, they are required to subscribe to a standard oath of office given at the annual meeting usually by a judge or county commissioner.


The major roles of the supervisors are to evaluate local soil and water conservation needs and opportunities, to set priorities, and to meet those prioritized needs within the district.


  • Employ adequate technical and educational staff to meet the conservation needs of the District.
  • Have a watershed manager.
  • Have a diversified District board.


  • Document and seek funding for programs and additional qualified staff.
  • Identify training needs and develop training for staff and board.
  • Increase use of volunteers and associates to represent more diversity.
  • Increase District community involvement.