Miscellaneous Fees

  •  Crash Reports: $8 from MCSO / $12 from buycrash.com
  •  Crash Photos: $3/each up to $50.00
  •  Out of state Civil Process: $60
  •  Sheriff Sale fee: $200

Gun Permits

On July 1, 2022, the State of Indiana will no longer require a handgun permit to legally carry, conceal or transport a handgun within the state. This law DOES NOT allow everyone to carry a handgun as Indiana law contains certain criteria which must be met for a person to legally carry within the state. 
  • 5 Year Permit:
    • As of July 1, 2020, the 5 year license to carry is state and local fee exempt.
    • (Fingerprint fee of $12.95 still applies.)
  •  Lifetime Permit (Expired Permit or New Application):
    • As of July 1, 2021, the lifetime permit is fee exempt.
    • (Fingerprint fee of $12.95 still applies.)


Applying for a Gun Permit

To apply for a handgun permit fill out your application online with the state. Please click on link to apply. https://firearms.ariesportal.com/  After application is submitted to the State you must schedule an appointment for fingerprinting. There is a $12.95 fee for fingerprinting. It can be paid online or with a money order. If paying by a money order, take with you at the time of the appointment. Please click link to schedule an appointment http://www.l1enrollment.com/state/?st=in . Due to the volume of permits submitted please allow 6-12 weeks or longer for the permit to be mailed.


Gun Permits Final Step

You must have your online application and fingerprints completed before visiting your local Sheriff's Office to complete your application and local background check.

Learn about Indiana Handgun Laws.

Note: Fees are subject to change without notice.