
Section 17 “Qualifications for certification”  
(a) In order to become a certified food handler an individual must comply with the following:  

(1) Successfully pass an accredited examination administered by an 
accredited testing service.  

(2) Provide name, certification document (copies thereof) and photo 
identification card at the food establishment for the certified food 
handler. The certification document shall be made available by the 
person-in-charge for inspection by the regulatory authority at all times.  

(3) The certification document shall be removed from the food establishment 
when the certified food handler terminates employment with the food 
establishment.  

(4) No person shall be designated as a certified food handler or in any way 
represent himself or herself as a certified food handler, unless they 
hold a certification document.  

Section 18 “Recertification”  
(a) A person designated as the certified food handler for a food establishment must not 
allow their certification to expire; and  
(b) the certified food handler shall become recertified as defined in section 13.  
Section 19 “Penalties “  

Sec. 19. Unless adjusted by an administrative order, the following schedule of 
monetary penalties shall be used if penalties are to be assessed:  

Section 15 (a), (b), (c), (d), (e), and (f) $0-100 per day per violation  
Section 16 (a) $0-100 per day per violation  
Section 16 (b) $0-50 per day per violation  

Section 17 (a), 1, 2, 3 and 4 $0-100 per day per violation 

 
 
 
410 IAC 7-23-1 Schedule of civil penalties  

Sec. 1. (a) The Indiana state department of health may commence an action under IC 4-
21.5-3-8 to levy civil penalties against a person who:  

(1) Fails to comply with IC 16-42-5, 410 IAC 7-21, or 410 IAC 7-24; or  
(2) Interferes with or obstructs the Indiana state department of health or its designated 
agent in the performance of duties pursuant to IC 16-42-5, 410 IAC 7-21, or 410 IAC 7-
24.  
(b) A civil penalty in an amount in the appropriate range specified in subsection (d), (e), 

or (f), or any combination thereof, may be sought for each day of each violation.  
(c) In determining the seriousness of the violation and the specific amount of the civil 

penalty to be sought for each violation, the Indiana state department of health will consider, but 
is not limited to, the following:  

(1) The potential for harm or imminent threat to public health.  
(2) The extent of deviation from statutory or regulatory requirements.  
(3) Degree of willfulness or negligence.  
(4) History of noncompliance.  

 


